Urgent

Really?

urgent

From a recent email: URGENT ALERT. The post was from the News & Observer calling my attention to a subscription renewal….which is not due until the 17th of the month.

The Raleigh News & Observer is owned by the McClatchy newspaper group….which hasn’t performed well over the past few years. Newspapers have lost revenue due to a substantial decrease in advertising (both display and classified).

I suppose to the N&O it is “urgent” that I renew my subscription….yet from the customers/subscribers perspective….there is less news and smaller papers….all with an increase in rates….thus not so “urgent”.

Newspapers are still trying to find a new business model. While my renewal may be “urgent” to the N & O….I would not put my renewal into that category and neither should the N & O.

Leave a Reply

