Boeing – 1962

The Black Box

Back Box

June 1962 – Seattle, WA – The Boeing Company, I was fumbling my way through the Boeing missile plant as a production planner.

My production component was an instrumentation package encased in a black box similar to the photo. Needless to say I was a very rookie planner in the engineering division.

As I recall, my job was to move these boxes through  manufacturing….quality control and customer (the Air Force) acceptance.  

My little section had a lead engineer, several engineers another planner and myself….all massed in a huge warehouse with hundreds of other similar sections, During the first weeks at Boeing, I was primarily reading manuals….than I was on my own….essentially training myself.

After several months of moving my “box” through the plant, I realized that my career at Boeing had come to an end.

Leave a Reply

